Skip to main content

CERAWeek by IHS Markit to Showcase the 2022 Class of Energy Innovation Pioneers

Senior executives and founders of eight companies selected as 2022 Energy Innovation Pioneers will present at CERAWeek by IHS Markit—the world’s preeminent energy conference—March 7-11 in Houston.

The Energy Innovation Pioneers program, held annually at CERAWeek, identifies the most innovative new technologies and business models across the energy spectrum based on judging criteria that includes creativity, feasibility of plan, scalability of technology and leadership. The program is now in its 17th year.

This year’s honorees represent the diverse supply of innovation enabling the transition towards a lower-emissions future, ranging from those that are working to enable zero-carbon energy systems (such as enhanced geothermal, electrical grid modernization, fusion energy and hydrogen production) as well those working to decarbonize the existing system (carbon capture, energy recovery, flare gas recovery and residential cooling).

The 2022 class of Energy Innovation Pioneers includes:

  • Anax Power – Michael Longo, co-founder and head of business development
  • Carbon America – Brent Lewis, CFO and co-founder
  • Commonwealth Fusion Systems – Bob Mumgaard, co-founder and CEO
  • Emvolon – Emmanuel Kasseris, CEO
  • Fervo Energy – Tim Latimer, CEO
  • Transaera – Sorin Grama, co-founder and CEO
  • TS Conductor – Jason Huang, CEO
  • SAFCell – Dr. Calum Chisholm, CEO

During CERAWeek 2022, the Energy Innovation Pioneers will participate in Agora Studios sessions exploring the role startups and their innovations are playing to advance decarbonization of the global energy system:

CERAWeek and Innovation Agora delegates are also invited to attend Agora Pod sessions where each Pioneer will provide an interactive presentation about their company and technology. These presentations are concurrent with the main conference agenda.

“Transitioning the global economy to a lower emissions energy system will require innovations not just in technology, but also in how they are brought to market and scaled,” said Carolyn Seto, director, technology and innovation practice, IHS Markit and Energy Innovation Pioneer chair. “Through their vision and perseverance, the solutions developed by this year’s class of Pioneers are setting the pace and the path towards a low carbon future.”

“We are pleased to honor the 17th class of Energy Innovation Pioneers at CERAWeek by IHS Markit,” said Daniel Yergin, vice chairman, IHS Markit and CERAWeek conference chair. “The theme of this year’s CERAWeek, ‘Pace of Change’ speaks to overcoming the challenges and seizing the opportunities of reducing emissions while supplying the needs of a growing global economy. These eight companies and entrepreneurs embody the next wave of innovation that will set the pace in shaping that energy future.”

“The Energy Innovation Pioneers program is an essential part of CERAWeek, just as innovation and technology are at the center of energy industry,” said James Rosenfield, senior vice president, IHS Markit and co-chairman of CERAWeek. “We are pleased to honor this year’s class of pioneers that are blazing new trails of innovation across the global energy landscape.”

CERAWeek 2022: Pace of Change: Energy, Climate and Innovation will examine the challenges and opportunities of reducing emissions while supplying the needs of a growing global economy in the era of energy transition. The conference is returning to Houston for its 40th annual gathering after being hosted as an all-virtual event in 2021.

Produced by IHS Markit (NYSE: INFO), a world leader in critical information, analytics and solutions, the CERAWeek 2022 conference program will explore key themes related to More Energy, Lower Emissions; Geopolitics and Energy Markets; Workforce of the Future; Competitive Landscape and the Energy Transition; Supply Chains; and Financing the Energy Future.

The CERAWeek Innovation Agora serves as the center of technology and innovation programming at the event. Featuring a community of thought leaders, technologists, start-ups, investors, academics, energy companies and government officials, the Innovation Agora will showcase transformational technology platforms in the energy space ranging from digitalization, AI, analytics and connectivity, robotics, blockchain, additive manufacturing, mobility and decarbonization. Newly added for 2022 will be dedicated “Agora Hubs” focused on hydrogen and carbon management.

Visit for a complete list of speakers and the most up-to-date program information (subject to change).

Registration Information

CERAWeek by IHS Markit 2022 will be held March 7-11 at the Hilton Americas—Houston. Further information and delegate registration is available at

Media Accreditation

Media registration is now open. Members of the media interested in covering CERAWeek 2022 are required to apply for accreditation. Applications are subject to approval and can be submitted at the following link:

About IHS Markit (

IHS Markit (NYSE: INFO) is a world leader in critical information, analytics and solutions for the major industries and markets that drive economies worldwide. The company delivers next-generation information, analytics and solutions to customers in business, finance and government, improving their operational efficiency and providing deep insights that lead to well-informed, confident decisions. IHS Markit has more than 50,000 business and government customers, including 80 percent of the Fortune Global 500 and the world’s leading financial institutions. Headquartered in London, IHS Markit is committed to sustainable, profitable growth.

IHS Markit is a registered trademark of IHS Markit Ltd. and/or its affiliates. All other company and product names may be trademarks of their respective owners © 2022 IHS Markit Ltd. All rights reserved.


Data & News supplied by
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.