China Netcom Group CORP (Hong Kong) LTD Form 6-K May 18, 2006

FORM 6-K

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

Report of Foreign Private Issuer Pursuant to Rule 13a-16 or 15d-16 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

For the month of May, 2006

(Indicate by check mark whether the registrant files or will file annual reports under cover of Form 20-F or Form 40-F.) Form 20-F \_\_\_\_\_ Form 40-F \_\_\_\_\_

(Indicate by check mark whether the registrant by furnishing the information contained in this form is also thereby furnishing the information to the Commission pursuant to Rule 12g3-2 (b) under the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934. )
Yes \_\_\_\_ No \_\_\_\_

China Netcom Group Corporation (Hong Kong) Limited
Building C, No. 156, Fuxingmennei Avenue
Xicheng District
Beijing, 100031 PRC

This Form 6-K consists of:

The poll results in respect of the resolutions proposed at the Annual General Meeting and the Extraordinary General Meeting of China Netcom Group Corporation (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Registrant"), made by the Registrant in English on May 16, 2006.

#### SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the under-signed, thereunto duly authorized.

CHINA NETCOM GROUP CORPORATION (HONG KONG) LIMITED

By /s/ Miao Jianhua

By /s/ Mok Kam Wan

Name: Miao Jianhua and Mok Kam Wan

Title: Joint Company Secretaries

Date: May 17, 2006

[GRAPHIC OMITTED]

CHINA NETCOM GROUP CORPORATION (HONG KONG) LIMITED

[GRAPHIC OMITTED]

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the

Companies Ordinance)

(Stock Code: 906)

Annual General Meeting and Extraordinary General Meeting held on 16 May 2006 Poll Results

The poll results in respect of the resolutions proposed at the Annual General Meeting (the "AGM") and the Extraordinary General Meeting (the "EGM") of China Netcom Group Corporation (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Company") held in the Ballroom, Island Shangri-la, Hong Kong on 16 May 2006 are as follows:

Resolutions passed at the Annual General Meeting

For

To receive and consider the financial statements and the Reports of the Directors and the Auditors for (99.99414%) the year ended 31 December 2005.

As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this resolution, the resolution was durordinary resolution.

\_\_\_\_\_\_

2	To declare a final dividend for the year ended 31 December 2005.	5,820,842,927 (99.99421%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
3	(i) To re-elect Mr. Jose Maria Alvarez-Pallete as a Director.	5,792,312,987 (99.5101%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
	(ii) To re-elect Mr. Zhang Xiaotie as a Director.	5,790,278,987 (99.50651%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
	(iii) To re-elect Mr. Miao Jianhua as a Director.	5,792,312,987 (99.5101%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
	(iv) To re-elect Mr. John Lawson Thornton as a Director.	5,792,348,387 (99.51074%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
	(v) To re-elect Mr. Victor Cha Mou Zing as a Director.	5,790,315,887 (99.50715%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
4	To re-appoint Messrs. PricewaterhouseCoopers as auditors and to authorise the Directors to fix their remuneration.	5,819,928,687 (99.97845%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
5	To give a general mandate to the Directors to repurchase shares in the Company not exceeding 10% of the aggregate nominal amount of the existing issued share capital.	5,821,240,887 (99.99346%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
6	To give a general mandate to the Directors to issue,		3
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this ordinary resolution.	resolution, the	resolution was du
7	To extend the general mandate granted to the	5,809,770,957	

	Directors to issue, allot and deal with shares by the number of shares repurchased.	(99.79678%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of ordinary resolution.	,	
	Resolutions passed at the Extraordinary General Meeting		No. of Votes
		For	
1	To approve the amendments to the rules of the Share Option Scheme.	5,508,740,248 (94.4880%)	3
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of ordinary resolution.	this resolution, the	resolution was du
2	To approve the amendments to the terms of the options granted under the Share Option Scheme.	5,508,740,248 (94.4880%)	3
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of ordinary resolution.	this resolution, the	resolution was du

As at the date of the AGM and the EGM, the number of issued shares of the Company was 6,593,529,000 shares, which was the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against all the resolutions proposed at the AGM and the EGM. There were no restrictions on any shareholder casting votes on any of the proposed resolutions at the AGM and the EGM.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the share registrar of the Company, acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the AGM and the EGM.

By Order of the Board
China Netcom Group Corporation (Hong Kong) Limited
Miao Jianhua Mok Kam Wan
Joint Company Secretaries

Hong Kong, 16 May 2006

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises Mr. Zhang Chunjiang, Dr. Tian Suning, Mr. Zhang Xiaotie, Mr. Miao Jianhua and Mr. Jiang Weiping as executive directors, Ms. Li Liming, Mr. Jose Maria Alvarez-Pallete and Mr. Yan Yixun as non-executive directors, and Mr. John Lawson Thornton, Mr. Victor Cha Mou Zing, Dr. Qian Yingyi, Mr. Hou Ziqiang and Mr. Timpson Chung Shui Ming as independent non-executive directors.